Common Review’s Annual Short Story Prize

From The Common Review‘s website:

The submission period will open in November for the second annual Short Story Prize 2011!

First prize: $400 and publication
Second prize: $200
Third prize: $150 

The 2011 guest judge is Gina Frangello!

Gina Frangello is the author of two critically acclaimed books of fiction, Slut Lullabies (Emergency Press 2010) and My Sister’s Continent (Chiasmus 2006). She is the executive editor and co-founder of Other Voices Books and the editor of the fiction section at The Nervous Breakdown. Gina’s short fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in a wide array of publications including Prairie SchoonerFenceStoryQuarterly, and Swink. She teaches in Columbia College’s Fiction Writing Department. and her novel, London Calling, will be published in 2012. Gina can be found online at

All prize winners, plus two honorable mentions, will receive a free copy of

The Great Books Foundation Short Story Omnibus and a one-year subscription to The Common Review. The first prize winner will be published in the magazine during 2011.

Deadline for manuscripts: Manuscript envelopes may be postmarked no later than February 15, 2011. All manuscripts must be mailed to:

The Common Review Short Story Prize
The Great Books Foundation
35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60601

Please include full contact information, including email with your submission.

Electronic submissions will not be considered. Contest results will be emailed to all contestants. Manuscripts will not be returned. Previously unpublished manuscripts from 500 to 5,000 words.

The 2010 Short Story Prize:

First Prize and publication in the summer 2010 issue: “Free,” by M. Garrett Bauman
Second Prize: “The Edge,” by José Skinner
Third Prize: “The Office,” by Barbara Arno Modrack
Honorable Mentions: “Bangalore,” by L. Charles Fiore, Jr., and “A Penny, A Pound,” by Princess Perry

All prize winners, plus two Honorable Mentions, received a free copy of The Great Books Foundation Short Story Omnibus and a one-year subscription to The Common Review. Judges for the contest were novelist Achy Obejas, former Poetry magazine editor Joseph Parisi, and Chicago journalist Danny Postel. All three are members of The Common Review’s editorial advisory board. A big thanks to all those who sent in submissions and made our first annual Short Story Prize a success!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s